Writers: Let it Go

Hello, this is Adair Heitmann writing to you today. School’s almost out, summer’s here, what are your writing plans? For me, I’ll still work, and still write and work, but my routine shifts slightly. I’m thinking about doing something radical this summer. I’m considering throwing out, yes, ditching old manuscripts, and books. I even plan on throwing out my coveted “Possible Agents to Contact” folder. I’m tired of all the “what-ifs” occupying my space. It’s freshness I seek.

My mental, computer, and physical spaces have gotten overwhelmed with stuff. All good stuff but none-the-less an overabundance. There’s a Mary Oliver quote that is inspiring me:

To live in this world
You must be able
To do three things:

To love what is mortal,
To hold it against your bones knowing
Your own life depends on it;

And, when the time comes to let it go,
to let it go.

Summer reminds me that time is a factor in this writer’s life. The artist in me wants a metaphorical clean canvas on which to paint my words. If you hear papers shredding in the middle of the night,  it’s just me. At dawn, if I wake you up by the sounds of my gasping, I’m deleting files. I’ll be clearing out the old to make way for the new.  Do you want to join me and let me know what happens? I think it will be a liberating experience. I’ll keep you posted.

Like a good dog, quotes have a way of nudging me in the crook of my arm to move forward. You can read about other inspiring writing quotes here in The Wisdom of Quotes.

Until next time, keep on writing!

Published in: on May 30, 2012 at 3:21 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fairfieldwriter.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/writers-let-it-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, this is quite a challenge, but I have a sneaking suspicion you’re right. I shall make an attempt to throw away something every day – something that I think I ‘ought’ to keep.Thanks

  2. Fairfield et al,

    Your blog is inspiring to me so I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. You and your blog deserve this. http://swthink.blogspot.com/2012/05/versatile-blogger-award.html

    Have a great day!!

    • Thanks Brooke! This is Adair Heitmann writing to you today. What a wonderful honor to have our Fairfield Writer’s Blog receive the Versatile Blogger Award! When I next post, in a few weeks, I’ll write and share all about it. Thanks again, what a creative way to expand and connect with our writing community!

  3. Very proud and impressed by the dedication and creativity of Fairfield Writers – especially our Group Leaders! Congrats to Adair & Alex!


Leave a Reply

