Dear Santa

Here’s a holiday treat for everyone penned by Lorraine Vollhardt from the Tuesday writers’ group.
Happy Holidays everyone!
Mary Ellen McLean

Dear Santa,

Twas the night before Christmas and the house was a wreck,
I’d been writing for hours with a crick in my neck.

My characters seem lifeless even those that were dead,
They were giving me troubles and an ache in my head.

But Santa I’m counting the hours ’til you come
And I really really hope that this book will be done.

I want you to read it and tell me your thoughts
Cause I know if you like it, it will be bought!

So Santa sit down in my big easy chair
Make yourself comfy and drink down this beer

Just take a few hours to check out this chapter
I’ll know that you like it by the sound of your laughter

For only you, Santa, can make dreams come true
And my dream on this Christmas is not really new

It’s to get this book published and out of my hands
And selling like sponge cake throughout every land

The book signings would be endless and the book really selling
Oprah would want me, Rachel Ray and Ellen.

The advance would be hefty with a contract for more
My books, bestsellers, and in every store

And Santa, only you could make it happen this way
Try leaving a copy under the tree at Doubleday

So Santa I expect you’ll be feeling pretty dizzy
As my whole writers’ group has been getting really busy

Each and every one of us deserving our goal
It’s now up to you Santa, go get our books sold!

And with only a keystroke to my final re-write
Happy Holidays to all and to all a good night!

Copyright 2009 by Lorraine Vollhardt

Published in: on December 15, 2009 at 10:48 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://fairfieldwriter.wordpress.com/2009/12/15/dear-santa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

